Monday, November 20, 2017

14 Ways Reading Improves Your Mind and Body

If you're here, you probably love reading, but did you know it's good for you, too? The Expert Editor created this massive infographic that breaks down 14 different ways your brain and body are improved every time you snuggle up with your favorite book.

"My name is Timothy McGill, and I'm a time travel addict..." Time Junkie, now available in paperback and ebook formats!

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

"On Basilisk Station" by David Weber [Review]

On Basilisk Station (Honor Harrington, #1)On Basilisk Station by David Weber
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

On Basilisk Station is about Honor Harrington, the new commander of a future warship called Fearless. On her first command, Honor discovers her ship has been fitted with an experimental weapon that she's forced to use in wargames which leaves her humiliated. For her failure, she's banished to a supposed backwater post called Basilisk Station where Honor and her crew uncover a conspiracy that threatens her government.

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Stephen King's Advice on the Perfect Desk

This cartoon by Zen Pencils is based on an excerpt from Stephen King's memoir/writer's guide, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft.

Monday, September 4, 2017

"Handbook For Mortals" Shows the Trad Publishing Industry is Corrupt, Too

One of the persistent drumbeats that traditional publishers and authors like to sneer is that only getting published makes you a "real" author. Self-published books are crap, they say. Indie authors are bad writers who attempt to manipulate the system with shoddy work and lousy covers, taking away space from the long-suffering "real" authors. After all, they say, if they were any good, authors would be published through a traditional publishing house, which ensures that only quality material reaches the shelves and success. If only that were true, then books like Fifty Shades of Grey wouldn't be out there. Or the most recent example, Handbook for Mortals.

Saturday, August 19, 2017

11 Best Post-Apocalyptic Novels

Post-apocalyptic fiction has become increasingly popular recently, especially in the horror and action genres. For some reason, the idea of civilization collapsing and people struggling to survive the aftermath appeals to us. Maybe it's our savage nature or a sense that life has become too easy, but we like to imagine the world that might come after we're gone. Here are the eleven best novels set after a potential world-ending event.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Why Content Mills Are Bad For Writers [Rant]

A while back, I talked about how I wished there was a "Uber for writers," a place for on-demand work where writers could earn quick cash by banging out short stories and novels for customers. Well, my mistake was thinking of fiction, because it turns out there are services online for writers to produce nonfiction on demand. Quite a few of them, in fact. And they all suck, at least for writers.

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Sample Sunday: "The Wonderful WonderWoods"

The Wonderful WonderWoods, the fifth and final part of the "TOONS" series, is now available on Amazon. Here's a sample:

At that moment, the president stepped through the curtain and onto the stage. His footsteps echoed across the raised, wooden platform, drowned out by the thunderous applause of his executive staff. The elves in trench coats remained silent.

Friday, June 16, 2017

"Deep Dark" by Laura Griffin [Review]

Deep Dark (Tracers, #10)Deep Dark by Laura Griffin
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is a difficult novel to review. There were some things that were absolutely awesome, and some other things that were absolutely awful. Together, they add up to a decent novel.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Shakespeare Officially Made a Co-Author on Three Plays

William Shakespeare is no stranger to controversy with scholars debating whether he wrote the plays under his name or whether he partnered with someone else. There's a whole Wikipedia section on the debate. Some claim Shakespeare didn't write any of his plays. While this has been a theory among only fringe scholars up until now, Oxford University Press has waded into the fight by announcing that its new edition of The Complete Works of William Shakespeare will credit Christopher Marlowe as a co-author on three of Shakespeare's plays.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

"Little Green Men" #2 is Now Available

I told ya I wasn't gone. The second part of the three-part series Little Green Men, "Training Day" is now online at Amazon. Here's the summary:
Jeffrey Foster is the only thing standing between Earth and total destruction from the alien armada heading right for it. First, he'll need to go through training at the Planetary Savior School, but it won't be easy. If the training doesn't kill him, the alien food will. Meanwhile, the Empire of Xenon is scouring the Galaxy to hunt him down. Will Jeffrey graduate as a full Planetary Savior? Will the Empire get to Earth first? Will Jeffrey be able to keep from strangling his annoying squadmates? 
"Little Green Men" is a three-part series of 20,000 words each, and is the second in the "Flying Saucers" trilogy. Fans of Douglas Adams, Monty Python, and "Red Dwarf" will enjoy this new series. Download the next installment today!
If you missed the first part "Better Homes and Aliens," you can still get it for 99-cents.

"My name is Timothy McGill, and I'm a time travel addict..." Time Junkie, now available in paperback and ebook formats!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...